Board of Directors

Our board members represent a diverse mix of Texas industries and regions. They bring a wealth of experience and perspective, and they understand that our mission is unique in today's market.

The governor, with the advice and consent of the Texas Senate, appoints five of the nine directors, including the chair. Policyholders elect the other four directors.

photo of Bob Barnes, Chairman
Bob Barnes, Chairman • appointed
Mr. Barnes, Granbury, Texas, is chairman of Texas Mutual Insurance Company's Board of Directors; he was appointed to the board in 2007. He currently owns Vision Asset Mgm't Ltd., Multi Concepts Ltd. and was partner, president and CEO of Schlotzsky's Deli, a multinational restaurant chain. He serves on the Board of Directors and is a former state president of the Texas Restaurant Association. He is former chairman of the Midland-Odessa Transportation Alliance and the Texas Motor Vehicle Board, and he was a founding member of The University of Texas of the Permian Basin Development Board.
photo of Linda Foster-Smith
Linda Foster-Smith, Vice Chair • appointed
Mrs. Foster-Smith, Georgetown, Texas, was appointed to Texas Mutual Insurance Company's Board of Directors in 2008. She is retired from AT&T, where she served for 37 years, the last 15 years as director of external affairs for the Permian Basin. Mrs. Foster-Smith is a former member of the Board of Trustees for the Midland Independent School District, a former member and chairwoman of the Midland Chamber of Commerce, and former board chairwoman and campaign chairwoman for the United Way of Midland. She is former board secretary for the Permian Basin Community Center and past board president of the Midland Independent School District's Educational Foundation.
photo of Bernie Francis
Bernie Francis, Secretary • elected
Mr. Francis, Carrollton, Texas, was elected to Texas Mutual Insurance Company's Board of Directors in 2009. He is owner and CEO of Addison-based Business Control Systems LP and Dallas-based First Class Caregivers Inc. He is a member of the board of Senior Quality Lifestyles Corp. and of Workforce Solutions for North Central Texas. Mr. Francis serves on the Executive Committee of the Texas Business Leadership Council. He is past chairman of the Texas State University System Board of Regents and former chairman of the Texas State Technical College Board of Regents. He served three terms on the Carrollton City Council in the 1990s.
photo of Jay Eisen
Jay Eisen • appointed
Mr. Eisen, Beaumont, Texas, was appointed to Texas Mutual Insurance Company's Board of Directors in 2008 to fill a vacant position, and he was reappointed in 2011. Mr. Eisen is a longtime Texas Mutual policyholder. He is president of Sampson Steel Corp. in Beaumont. Mr. Eisen is a member of the Political Advisory Committee for the Texas Association of Business, a former member of the association's statewide board and former chairman of the association's Southeast Chapter.
photo of Eric Oliver
Eric Oliver • elected
Mr. Oliver, Abilene, Texas, was elected to Texas Mutual Insurance Company's Board of Directors in 2009. He is founder and president of Softvest LP in Abilene; president of Midland Map Co. LLC in Midland; founder and principal of TenTex Music LLC in Nashville; founder and principal of Geologic Research Centers LLC, with a library in Abilene; and founder and owner of Caprock Title Co. in Midland. He is chairman of Midland-based AMEN Properties Inc., and he serves on the board of ACIMCO, Abilene Christian University's endowment management company. He is a former member of the Abilene Community Foundation's investment committee.
photo of Danny Phillips
Danny Phillips • elected
Mr. Phillips, Dallas/Fort Worth, was elected to Texas Mutual's Board of Directors in 2012. He manages his own financial investments, and he is also the owner of the Diamond P. Ranch, a registered Texas Longhorn cattle operation. In addition, Mr. Phillips serves as Board Chairman for the Fortress Youth Development Center in Fort Worth, and he serves on the Board of Regents at Pepperdine University, the Investment Board of Abilene Christian University, the Board of Directors of, and the Board of Directors of Ministry Ventures.
photo of Delia Reyes
Delia Reyes • appointed
Mrs. Reyes, Dallas, Texas, was appointed to Texas Mutual Insurance Company's Board of Directors in 2006 and reappointed in 2011. She is the first woman to have chaired the United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, and she is among only a dozen Hispanic women in the country to have served on the board of a Fortune 500 company. She has been president and CEO of Reyes Consulting Corp. since 1992, and she is CEO of Adrian Information Strategies, a subsidiary of Reyes Consulting. She is a former member of the Board of Regents for Texas Woman's University. She is a director of the Cuban American National Council, and she is past chairwoman of the Community Council of Greater Dallas.
photo of John Swanson
John Swanson • appointed
Mr. Swanson, Frisco, Texas, was appointed to Texas Mutual's board of directors in 2012. He has nearly 20 years of corporate finance experience. He currently serves as president and chief executive officer of Republic Energy, Inc. Mr. Swanson is also a member of the Independent Petroleum Association of America, past technical reviewer of the Society of Petroleum Engineers and a past trainer for Junior Achievement of Midland.
photo of George Wesch Jr.
John Young • elected
Mr. Young, Houston, Texas, was elected to Texas Mutual Insurance Company's Board of Directors in 2013. Mr. Young is president of John H. Young, Inc., and vice president of JOY Resources. His family is majority owner of Central Bancshares, where he currently serves as chairman of the board, as well as Central Bank-Houston. Mr. Young is a member of The All-American Wildcatters–an informal oil industry fraternity that shares industry news–and past chairman of the Texas Oil & Gas Association (TxOGA).

© 2016 Texas Mutual Insurance Company • Texas Mutual is a registered trademark of Texas Mutual Insurance Company • All rights reserved.